How I Edit My Photos (Update)

fullsizeoutput_124e

 

Hello everyone!

I feel so bad, it’s been almost half a year since I have last posted a blog.  I remember telling you all that I would post more this year, but as you can see, I did not keep my word and I’m sorry! Nevertheless, I am here today to show my editing process and techniques that I use when I edit my photos for my Instagram, luen.xx. Although these are just a few ways I edit my photos, I am always testing out new ways to edit them. However, I decided to make this post to show you my editing process. If you are lazy and don’t exactly feel like using a number of apps to edit your photos, then you are reading the right post. I am super lazy when it comes to editing my photos; I only use one editing app and it is…

*Drum Roll*

Vsco!

fullsizeoutput_1244

I know, pretty basic, but hey! It does the job for me so I am extremely satisfied with just using Vsco. But if you do have another editing application that you would like to recommend me, leave a comment and I will for sure check it out.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

IMG_4349

***Reminder***

The editing formulas I post are just a rough estimation of where I usually place the cursor on the editing degree spectrum. Depending on the angle of your shot, the lighting, the topic of the shot, and the overall cool-tone/warm-tone of your picture, you will have to adjust the editing tools according to your liking. Now let’s get into it~

Cloudy Blue Theme

This is actually my main and favorite theme when it comes to editing photos. For as long as I can remember, I have been editing my photos with this style. I personally love cool-tones, so I purposefully alternate the temperature of my photos in an extreme way. For this theme, the most important editing tool is the ‘Temperature’ tool. You want to just drag that cursor all the way to the other side of the line. Drag it like you mean it, but with accuracy. But don’t go too blue or else it might look like your pictures are sick and have a cold. Sometimes I get too excited and make my photos too cool-toned. The secret is to edit the photos just cool enough so that it barely passes the neutral state of the overlying tone.

fullsizeoutput_123e

IMG_4348

Tips:

  • Look for backgrounds that are either white, grey, or ivory colored
  • Natural lighting is the best; this edit doesn’t go well with dim-lit photos
  • Avoid the yellow objects when taking pictures
  • If you do not have an object that is blue, pictures that include the sky in it are always helpful since it is naturally blue

 

Since my skin naturally pulls a reddish tone sometimes in photos, I heavily rely on the tool “skin tone.” I noticed that by moving the cursor to the right (+), it evens out my reddish tone and makes it look a bit more orange. Although it looks weird at first, if you change the temperature to be more cold, then it will even out the orange-ish tone. Be careful if you have a pink object in the photo though. Moving the “skin tone” edit more “+” can result in the pink shade looking more like a coral shade.

 

For this editing style, I love to find objects or backgrounds that are grey and silver. For me, I find it the easiest to edit. White is also a great background to edit, which is why my dream is to one day visit Antartica! Being surrounded in a completely white environment of snow would be a dream come true for my fingers when I edit.

 

Vividly Faded Theme

At one point during my editing, I felt a bit tired looking at my feed, as if I was about to fall asleep while looking at my feed. That is why I decided to switch it up when I went to Korea for vacation this past summer! I went with a more colorful and bright theme to keep my mind awake and more excited. In fact, by looking or colorful objects to capture, I found myself admiring nature more, compared to when I was editing my photos with the Cloudy Blue style.

fullsizeoutput_123c

IMG_4355

Tips:

  • Unlike the Cloudy Blue edit, look for colorful backgrounds, especially green
  • Nature is going to be your best friend to take pictures of
  • The colors pink, yellow, green, and blue look beautifully vivid with this filter
  • Drag the contrast more “-” and the shadow more “+” to give the picture a more faded and soft look
  • Bring the saturation higher to bring out the degree of color desired

 

For this edit style, try to avoid dark objects. Brighter is the better way to go. Sometimes when I tried to edit my black hair with this filter, my hair would end up looking close to a shade of green or yellow-ish grey. I imagine that cotton candy would look beautiful with this filter. I never got the chance to buy cotton candy in Korea, but I really wanted to try this edit on some pink cotton candy.

 

Naturally Faded Theme

I have always wanted to get into the natural edited themes because it looks so effortless and cozy. But honestly, I don’t think I am good at maintaining that style of editing. I have a lot of respect for those who can maintain this theme. I am too addicted to filters that my hand gets anxious when I don’t apply a filter! It’s like my hand is crying when I don’t let them apply a filter on my photo. This is why I have a terrible habit of always wanting to edit my photos in a bold and exaggerated way. To be concise, my photos are anything but organic.

fullsizeoutput_1240

 

IMG_4356

Tips:

  • Taking photos in natural lighting is especially crucial for this editing style
  • Take pictures of colors that are faded or have a soft look to it
  • This style looks better when there aren’t a lot of objects in the picture; keeping it simple is better

 

Again, there isn’t much of a difference, but I mainly amp up the exposure of the picture to give it a more light and fluffy appearance. Since it was difficult to find subjects to take pictures of that would fit this natural theme, I faded my photos to supply a linear concept to tie my photos together. I honestly love fading my photos. I feel like it gives a more calming and soft look on the eyes, as if I am looking at a family of marshmallows.

 

Antique White Theme

This is the current editing style that I am applying to my photos on my Instagram. This style is a lot more professional looking compared to my other editing styles. This edit is used well on outfits and coffee. For this edit, making the photos appear neutral is the key. Once again, the “Temperature” editing tool is vital, It is important to find the sweet spot that is right in the middle between the cool-tone and warm-tone extremes.

fullsizeoutput_123f

 

IMG_4353

Tips:

  • The colors black, brown, white (basically neutral shades), and red work well with this filter
  • This edit works well with non-primary colors, but stick to either neutral shades or colorful shades for this edit; it doesn’t look as clean if both category of shades are mixed together within a feed
  • The filter may pull more of a blue shade when applied, but one you turn the exposure higher, the blue tint will even out
  • White backgrounds look the best with this style
  • Bringing down the Saturation can give the photo a more “antique” appearance

 

My favorite colors to work with for this style are black and white shades. By keeping the shades neutral, it keeps your photos looking more clean and pristine, like a freshly polished white ceramic. You want to keep your photos as simple and neat as possible.

 

Since I like the way that this filter looks on coffee, it has given me an excuse to drink more coffee. I drink coffee on a regular basis so why not edit it while I enjoy it? Again, since my skin appears a bit reddish in pictures, I move the “skin tone” edit more “+” to neutralize my skin. Asian skin problems (for some). But no worries! With the help of editing apps, we can solve our dilemma. This probably explains why I am so obsessed with filters.

 

Since this filter looks good with brown and black shades, this filter is my favorite to apply on pictures that reveal my face. It doesn’t wash out the face too much but still lightens the skin and deepens the shade of black or brown hair, causing the hair to look richer and healthier. “Healthier” is what I especially appreciate from this edit, since my hair is fried and like feeding hay in real life.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

IMG_4357

Thank you for reading my long post on how I edit my photos. I love observing other people’s feeds and noticing the way they edit their photos. It’s a skill and art that has room for improvement and renovation constantly.

Although these are my styles and formulas for editing my photos, I am always on the look out for new, aesthetic ways of editing photos, so if you have any recommendations or want to share your styles of editing your photos, please leave a comment! I have a lot to improve on with editing photos and hope to become better in the future and learn more techniques. Also, thank you for those who have message me on Instagram, asking how I edit my photos. I hope that you find my tips and formulas for editing my photos useful!

 

16-06-09-19-56-37-025_deco

Posted by

Ranging from fashion, makeup, random life lesson tid-bits, to weekly story chapter uploads, feel free to click around to different posts of your liking :)

10 thoughts on “How I Edit My Photos (Update)

Leave a Reply

