Tale of Two Quaint Shops [Rockport, Massachusetts]

Greetings everyone, Luen here~

For the time being, I am currently enjoying and freezing in the lovely state of Massachusetts this week. Being in Massachusetts, I visited a quaint town in Rockport that is settled beside the sea and is made up of hole-in-the-wall shops throughout the town. Before I get rolling, this post is not sponsored by anyone. These are the shops that I happened to come across during my time there that I became fond of.

image

image

image

So without further ado, here goes the tale (review) of the two shops that were my favorite in Rockport.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It was the best of times when we discovered it:

After walking throughout the intertwining streets and shopping at numerous stores, the time for a peaceful place where we could sit and chill was much needed. My mind was sending signals informing me that it was time for a coffee break. As we (a group of us) scouted out for a cafe, we were showed with many ice cream parlors and gift shops. Finally, as we were walking through the streets, we spotted a flag that had the most delightful words printed across it: Cafe!

image

This cafe is not easily seen since it’s not one of the buildings that are lined up against the street.

image

Where the purple arrow is pointing is where a small alley exists that you take to arrive at the cafe.

image

image

image

The name of the cafe is “Nine Lives Cafe.” Although I don’t know the basis of why the owner chose this particular name, it is an interesting name where I am assuming that there is a fascinating story behind it.

Exterior:

image

Once you turn right right before the red house, the outside eating areas are right there.

Interior:

image

image

image

The cafe inside is small and extremely cozy inside. The interior designing gives a unique and personal flair to the whole cafe. There is one owner and she is the sweetest and most cordial lady. The prices are inexpensive. They range from around $2-4 (my drink was $2.80).

image

image

I odered an Antarctic Dark coffee and the bitterness was a refreshing bitter taste instead of the other coffee I get that taste chemically bitter/sour. All the drinks she offers are organic and are explained in further detail through informative posters around the walls. When I ordered my coffee, she showed me a selection of different coffee beans to brew.

image

image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The second shop, that is a personal favorite, is a shop close in diameter to the “Nine Lives Cafe.”

Exterior:

image

image

And it is the “Beadles Bead Shop!” I love this shop because you are able to design and put together your own accessories out of hundreds of bead selections.

Interior:

image

image

image

image

Honestly, the amount and diversity of all the beads were overwhelming; the ideas for different designs/combinations were swimming around in my head.

image

Once you come down to a consensus of which beads you want, you are given a template to help facilitate your experience in creating any type of accessory desired. For today, I stuck with making a bracelet. Since the common wrist length is 7 inches, the owner advises each customer to organize your chosen beads within the 3 1/2 boundaries on both sides.

image

image

Once I filled up my tray with beady goodness, I took it to the back room of the shop where she provide a bracelet wire and clip for us to place the beads through.

image

image

image

My bracelet costed $8 flat which was a shocker for me. I may not be the most educated in typical bracelet prices, but I was expecting the price to be higher than $8, so I was pleased.

image

image

image

Again, the owner of this bead shop is extremely friendly and enjoyable to carry out a conversation with.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If making a trip to Massachusetts is one of the destinations in your schedule, I highly recommend you to stop by and shop at Rockport. And if you happen to, make sure to check out these two lovely places. Since Rockport IS a town, all the owners and citizens there have a positive friendship and are extremely close when it comes to daily encounters. Some of the owners even know all the dog’s names in the town!

Feel free to ask any questions or leave a comment. Thank you for reading and have a blissful day~

 

16-05-14-20-26-33-069_deco

Posted by

Ranging from fashion, makeup, random life lesson tid-bits, to weekly story chapter uploads, feel free to click around to different posts of your liking :)

4 thoughts on “Tale of Two Quaint Shops [Rockport, Massachusetts]

Leave a Reply

